Sign In Forgot Password


Temple Emanu-El is largely run and operated by dedicated lay leaders- caring and active members of the Temple who volunteer their time to help create a warm, vibrant, and flourishing community. There are many opportunities for Temple members to be involved in the life of the community, including governance. Members are encouraged to join committees and auxiliaries, to participate in organizing and implementing Temple events, and to take part in the governance of the congregation.

The Temple is governed by the Board of Directors -- members in good standing of the Temple who are elected by the congregation. The Board of Directors establishes Temple policies, manages its business and affairs, and controls the property and revenue. All board members are volunteers.

The Board of Directors consists of the officers: president (or co-presidents), executive vice president, three vice presidents, treasurer, assistant treasurer, recording secretary and immediate past president(s); trustees; and all past presidents. Any members of the congregation in good standing may be nominated and elected to serve on the board. The Executive Board consists of the elected officers, past presidents and invited guests, and makes recommendations to and advises the Board of Directors on matters relating to the operation, management, and administration of the Temple.

The board is governed by the bylaws of the Temple. Meetings of the Board of Directors and Executive Board are held monthly, and congregational meetings, which are open to all members, are held semi-annually.

Please contact the Temple office or any Temple board member if you are interested in joining a committee or being involved in other ways!

The members of the 2018-2019 Board of Directors of Temple Emanu-El are:
President: Colin Hogan
Executive Vice President: Robert Fried
Vice Presidents: Denise Wolferman, Janet Suss
Treasurer: Brian Wolferman
Assistant Treasurer: Marlene Silvers Feldman
Recording Secretary: Sandy Wilson
Trustees for term ending in 2019: Carol Gerold
Trustees for term ending in 2020: Merrill Altberg, Bobbi Goodman, Marvette Likier, David Sachs
Trustees for term ending in 2021: Michael Cohn, Gail DeFilippo, Michael Leber, Bonnie Silverman

Past Presidents: Coralyn Gorlicki, Joan Ellen, Gail Apsel, Rhona Kotler, Sandy Wilson, Erica Jordan, Brenda Zuckerman, Barry Ellen, Sharon Ratiner, Casey Horgan, Ilene Meiseles


For the bylaws that govern our community click here.

Tue, June 18 2019 15 Sivan 5779